Home / State CE requirements / Maine
ME · New EnglandMaine veterinary CE and license renewal requirements
Veterinarians: 24 hours every 2 years. Last verified 2026-10-15. Maine Board of Veterinary Medicine (OPOR) has the final word.
Maine CE requirements for veterinarians (DVM)
| Hours required | 24 hours every 2 years |
|---|---|
| Deadline / reporting period | Cycle Oct 1 even year – Sep 30 next even year |
| Online and self-study limits | Not stated (proctored computer training via RACE allowed) |
| Live / in-person requirement | Not verified yet. Check with the state board. |
| Mandatory or capped topics | Practice management max 6 |
| Accepted providers | Not verified yet. Check with the state board. |
| Carryover | Not verified yet. Check with the state board. |
| Records and audits | Not verified yet. Check with the state board. |
| First renewal | Exempt before first even-year renewal |
Maine vet tech CE requirements (RVT)
| Credential | Registered veterinary technician (annual reregistration) |
|---|---|
| Hours required | Not verified yet. Check with the state board. |
| Caps and notes | No technician CE requirement in rules (Ch. 4 applies to veterinarians only) |
Maine veterinary license renewal
Renew through the Maine Board of Veterinary Medicine (OPOR), which also runs the official license lookup. CE timing: Cycle Oct 1 even year – Sep 30 next even year. Records: not verified yet.
Short on hours? Need CE fast lists 55 free live sessions. Check them against the online limit above.
Veterinary conferences in Maine 2026–2027
We aren't tracking an in-state conference for Maine yet. We're adding state VMA meetings weekly.
Online options
Free veterinary CE: 55 live webinars plus on-demand catalogs, all with RACE status shown. Maine's online rule: Not stated (proctored computer training via RACE allowed). Want CE with a trip attached? See CE vacations or all conferences.
Maine veterinary CE FAQ
How many CE hours do veterinarians need in Maine?
Maine requires 24 hours every 2 years for veterinarians (DVM). Timing: Cycle Oct 1 even year – Sep 30 next even year.
Can Maine veterinary CE be done online?
Not stated (proctored computer training via RACE allowed)
How many CE hours do RVTs need in Maine?
Registered veterinary technician (annual reregistration). Hours are not verified from state text yet.
When is the Maine veterinary license renewal CE deadline?
Cycle Oct 1 even year – Sep 30 next even year
Can extra CE hours carry over in Maine?
We haven't verified this from Maine's official text yet. Check with the Maine Board of Veterinary Medicine (OPOR).
Does Maine accept RACE-approved CE?
Yes. The AAVSB lists Maine as accepting RACE-approved programs. Online or self-study caps still apply.
Official sources
- Maine Board of Veterinary Medicine (OPOR)
- https://www1.maine.gov/pfr/professionallicensing/professions/board-veterinary-medicine/licensing/veterinarian-veterinary-technician
- https://www1.maine.gov/sos/rulemaking/agency-rules/department-professional-and-financial-regulation-rules
- https://assets-002.noviams.com/novi-file-uploads/mvma/pdfs-and-documents/Continuing_Education/Maine_CE.pdf
Last verified 2026-10-15. Plain-English summary, not legal advice. Spot an error? Tell us.
Other New England states: Connecticut · Massachusetts · New Hampshire · Rhode Island · Vermont · All states
Free CE and new conference dates, once a week.
Plus state CE rule changes before they bite at renewal. We're not collecting signups on the site yet.
Opens your email app. We'll only use it to tell you when the newsletter launches.